Five organisations wanted to have their own environmental award. Dato’ Kok Wee Kiat, President of BCSDM at that time persuade all organisations to adopt a common approach with a standard set of criteria that the government would be happy to support.


15 participants but none received the Exceptional Achievement. The Committee refused to compromise the quality of the Award since no one met the criteria.


The Award received recognition from the Government and Prime Minister Dr Mahathir Mohamad (now Tun) allowed the Award to be known henceforth as “Prime Minister’s Hibiscus Award”.


  • The Award received the highest number of participation in the history of the Award, 80 participations.

  •  Special Project Award category was introduced. Participation in this category is VOLUNTARY to all participants. The best theme based project under the scope described will be the winner.



Acidchem International, bagged the overall PMHA Challenge Trophy in a field of 54 contenders. Located in Prai, it is the only company selected for Excellent Achievement after a gap of 10 years, and only the fourth ever to meet the mark in the history of the award.